top of page

Transformation Series – Day 5: Stop Hanging On, Waiting For Your Life To Happen …

DAY FIVE – TRANSFORMATION SERIES 2019

Stop waiting for your life to happen! The only difference between you and the people who are getting what they want is that they continue to move and you don’t.

waiting for your life to happen

This week I was sitting on the phone with tech support trying to figure out why my transformation series of emails wasn’t sending … how frustrating when all I wanted to do was get my message out and help as many people as possible using a tried and tested, reliable provider … grrrr over and over again … I thought of the time wasted waiting … the things I could have done while I sat there … waiting … not living my life and not reaching those I wanted to. I felt like my effort was in vain and that my life was on hold! erm please hold and we will be with you shortly … its driven me nuts!

Do you feel like your life is on hold? What are you hanging on waiting for?

Are you waiting for a spouse to come along, or for him/her to act better towards you? Are you waiting on the motivation to get your home organised? Are you waiting for a great job to fall into your lap? Are you waiting to win the lottery to plan your retirement? Or for your commitment to your health and fitness to simply kick in?

If the only difference between those of us ‘stuck’ and ‘on-hold’ and the people who are getting what they want is that they keep moving and we don’t … then I’d like to know what their secret is … wouldn’t you?

So today’s word is #ACHIEVE – what do we need to do today to achieve something small? … here are a few ideas.

Focus on the WHO, not the WHAT

If you feel like you’ve been stuck trying to achieve a goal for a while, try reframing it in ‘who am I’ terms instead of ‘what I want’ terms. For example, instead of saying ‘I want to lose 30 lbs’, say ‘I am someone who takes care of herself by keeping my weight around XXX which is a healthy range for my height and age’. Be as specific as possible. Notice that ‘I want to be someone who helps others’ could mean anything from a clerk in your local florist to a heart surgeon. Focus on who you want to be. Then ask yourself what actions would fit with your desire ‘to be’ instead of ‘get’.

Analyse It

Did you know that a full 80% of your problems come from 20% of your life? It’s true! Figure out what that 20% is that’s affecting so much of your life, and start working to make it happier, more efficient, more satisfying. Be honest here and don’t be scared to get rid of things that make you feel unhappy or the things that suck the life out of you. Time to be brutal and take action.

Assign Value

A big mistake I see in some of my clients and I’ve learned how important this is in my own life, is not assigning a true value to their time, energy, money or to the ‘real estate’ (space) of their home or office. Realising that for each thing they say Yes to — from heading to the shops to buy a pair of shoes to watching a movie — they have said No to something else. I’ve learned to always place a value on my time and ask, is this ‘valuable’ enough to me to fill my life with, or shift something else from my schedule for, to spend my money on and to give of my time and my energy?

Establish Routines

Don’t know about you but I have routines associated with everything I do, well nearly everything. Getting up early most days to get a couple of hours of work done before I start my day is one of them, a cheat meal once a week, food prep on Sundays … so why not find routines that ensure things get done? While they may sound boring and make life predictable at times, they actually allow space in your day for fun things! The same way you don’t have to think about calories on your cheat meal night, instead of being worried and anxious on Monday morning wondering if you’ll fit in your workout for the day, or find something suitable for your lunch, you’ll feel calm knowing that you always spend a couple of hours on a Sunday prepping your food for the week and get the washing done so you have clean gym kit for your tog bag so you can go straight to the gym after work and not miss it. All organised and ready to roll! Routines take the stress out.

Accept ‘Control-Ability’

We’ve all heard about deniability from political spin doctors. I’d like to introduce you to the concept of ‘control-ability’ in your daily life. While there are loads of things we can’t control, like roadworks cropping up everywhere, you can’t control the route you take and the time allowed for your journey, we can’t control what happens in politics but we can vote and have our say, we can’t control the weather but we can control our attitude when the heavens open …

Knowing what we can control and exercising that, then letting go of what we can’t, puts us in the driver’s seat of our lives and that my friends is exactly where I want to be.

My attitude, my thoughts, my actions and my words.

Feeling good about yourself will come naturally when you stop waiting and start creating the life you really want to live. Stress and frustration will be reduced as you make choices instead of being pushed around. You’ll experience a higher sense of self-worth, and the life you’ve always wanted will unfold in front of you.

Stop waiting for your life to happen, start living the life you’ve always wanted today!

 

Head on over to my WOMAN IN MOTION CHEAT SHEET and find out exactly what I do every day to move forward, to find momentum in life and business and to create the life I love.

A-Woman-in-Motion-Cheat-Sheet---A4-3D-Transparent
 

5H4A0276.jpg

GET MONTHLY UPDATES

 There is motivation in numbers. Find support in our active community and stay in the loop. Be the first to know about how to  Thrive as we navigate mid-life.

THANKS FOR JOINING!

  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2022 by The GODDESS Academy | Pure Form Fitness (UK) Ltd

bottom of page