top of page

Transformation Series – Day 6: Hold on to your dreams…

How many times have you abandoned an idea, project, program or dream because someone made a disparaging remark or rolled their eyes when you told them about it?

Perhaps you have tried something in the past and failed and therefore have a need to prove you can get it right but those around you don’t believe you can… I see this often with weight loss goals and programs and individuals that haven’t quite achieved their objectives. They give up because it gets too hard, life gets in the way, they get injured, they get sick, they go on holiday, they would rather eat pizza every night than clean up their nutrition. It becomes clear that they haven’t made the lifestyle changes needed to be successful and rather than get up and try again and keep trying taking small steps forwards, they walk away …

The same is true for anything in life we feel is not worth fighting for at the time. Grim fact of life but true …

In my world, health is everything !! Without health life becomes limited … I hate feeling limited or constrained … so for me … this is worth fighting for! and I have done and continue to do what is necessary to stay healthy and well. To achieve this I have worked hard to instil habits into my life that help me move forward. I have a firm belief system and won’t be dissuaded from that commitment. This impacts everything. If I had listened to the people who told me I looked ‘ok’ when I was going through my transformation (carrying over 2.5 stone more weight than I should, looking at least 10 years older and feeling like I was ageing before my time, burned out and unhappy), I would have settled for mediocre … that wasn’t good enough for me then and its not good enough for me now. I have a need to do my best and be the best I can be …

So many of my clients feel the same which is why we work together and achieve amazing things together!

 
hold on to your dreams

Never Relinquish Your Dreams

I’ve never understood why we sometimes allow others to dictate what is good, right or possible. We allow them to steal our dreams. No one can put you down, stomp on your dream, or kill an idea of yours unless you allow them to.

Let’s agree today not to allow that to happen, but rather to get clear on what our dreams are and start working towards them.

A small step every day in the right direction will get you there in no time.

I like to set myself 90-day goals and find it very useful to break them down into smaller tasks to achieve them.

The 5-minute daydream exercise in the WOMAN IN MOTION cheat sheet will help you do this.  From there I plan my steps and block out the time to do the work. It all starts here. Once I have a plan I master my schedule and for me, winning my mornings are key to getting the work done, freeing up my time for fun stuff and taking steps towards my dreams.

Sounds too good to be true? Well, it’s not and you can find out more in the download. Go get the cheat sheet now if you haven’t done so already.

 

How 9 famous people chose to pursue their dreams

I love reading about success and I am always inspired by these stories … imagine if they quit or decided not to pursue their dreams. The world would have missed out on this …

  1. The movie Star Wars was rejected by every movie studio in Hollywood before 20th Century Fox finally produced it. It went on to be one of the largest-grossing movies in film history.

  2. As a child, Sylvester Stallone was frequently beaten by his father and told he had no brains. He grew up an unhappy loner. He floated in and out of schools. An advisor at Drexel University told him that based on his aptitude tests he should pursue a career as an elevator repair person. It’s not a bad profession but it’s certainly not where “Rocky” ended up!

  3. Einstein was criticized for not wearing socks or cutting his hair. He didn’t speak until he was four and didn’t read until he was seven. One observer noted, “He could be mentally retarded”.

  4. An expert said of Vince Lombardi: “He possesses minimal football knowledge. Lacks motivation. . .

  5. Beethoven handled the violin awkwardly and preferred playing his own compositions instead of improving his technique. His teacher proclaimed him hopeless as a composer.

  6. Walt Disney was fired from his job as a newspaper editor for lack of ideas. He also went bankrupt several times before he created Disneyland.

  7. Henry Ford failed and went broke 5 times before he finally succeeded.

  8. Louisa May Alcott, the author of Little Women, was encouraged to find work as a servant or seamstress. She would certainly never be a writer.

  9. In 1944, the director of the Blue Book Modeling Agency told modelling hopeful Norma Jean Baker (Marilyn Monroe), “You’d better learn secretarial work, or else get married.”

 

It Takes Courage

It takes courage to pursue your dreams, to chase them even when no one else can see your vision.

In my experience when you share these with people and talk about your journey and what you are learning along the way, more people will want to hear about it than not.

It really doesn’t matter if anyone supports what you want to do. The important thing is for YOU to believe. For YOU to ignore the people who say you can’t do it – and DO IT ANYWAY!

It takes courage. It takes persistence. It takes believing in the “voice inside” when no one else does. Ideas, dreams and visions are planted within you because you have the ability to make them happen. You’ll learn, grow, scramble, fail, and get back up again! The important thing is to simply never give up. The people I mentioned above never gave up and they made great things happen! So can you!

So what are your ideas? Your thoughts? Your dreams? Your plans?

 

Do you have a clear picture of where you want to be? What it looks like and how it feels to have achieved it?

Do the 5 Minute Day Dream exercise in the WOMAN IN MOTION cheat sheet and write your dream down. The next steps in the cheat sheet will get you mobilised to achieve them …

 

5H4A0276.jpg

GET MONTHLY UPDATES

 There is motivation in numbers. Find support in our active community and stay in the loop. Be the first to know about how to  Thrive as we navigate mid-life.

THANKS FOR JOINING!

  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2022 by The GODDESS Academy | Pure Form Fitness (UK) Ltd

bottom of page