top of page

Home Made Muesli

I have just made another batch of my muesli and decided to film it so that you too can have a giggle, I have a long way to go to be anything like Nigella, but hey-ho got to start somewhere!


Makes me feel healthy and happy at the same time!


Ingredients list:

500g spelt flakes, yes this makes a lot! add them to the pan just before you roast the mix.

Then you will need 200g of brazil nuts, 200g almonds, 200g pumpkin seeds, 200g linseed, 100g chia seeds and 100g sesame seeds.


Choose your favourite nuts and seeds …


Start off by dry roasting the nuts in a pan, simply combine them with your choice of spice. I love using aniseed or cinnamon. Allow them to brown slowly, keep turning them in the pan so they don’t burn, you will smell them starting to cook. Once they are done remove them from the heat and chop them finely.

I add them all to the same bowl as they are ready, then add 100g of cacao nibs and mix the ingredients together really well.

Then add 600g of dried fruit and add to mix, combine well. I like dehydrating my own but you can use shop bought dried fruit too, always avoid products with preservatives on them.

I like to add raisins, banana, apricots, berries, pineapple, coconut, apricots etc.

At this stage, I divide the nut and fruit mixture between two or three containers for use in other treats, such as my magic protein balls or nancy’s treat bars.

Then add the spelt flakes to one of the containers, pour the sweetener over the top and mix it in well, I love to use date syrup but any natural sweetener will do. You could use molasses, agave, sweet freedom, maple syrup or honey.

Pop this mixture under the grill and once the top has browned slightly, turn the mixture and pop it under the grill again. Repeat this until the whole mixture has been roasted well.


Very happy indeed!


Making chocolate sprinkles!

Take 2 tbsp of nut butter, 2 tbsp sweeteners and combine these well in a pan on medium heat.

Add 2 tbsp cocoa powder mix the ingredients together well, remove from the heat and add one portion of the nut mix to the pan and combine well!

Allow cooling…

Then into a bowl, add a dollop of yoghurt, chocolate sprinkles a dash of maple or date syrup, sit down and enjoy!

My idea of heaven 🙂

Comments


bottom of page